What’s Happening in Morristown?

PUBLIC NOTICE – JAG Program

The City of Morristown and Hamblen County are making joint application for the Edward Byrne Memorial … [Read More...]

Sewer Work – Week of May 26th

Sewer work continues around Morristown. For a list of current projects and road closings, CLICK … [Read More...]

Memorial Day – Garbage Pick-Up Schedule

The City will be observing the Memorial Day holiday and will not be running routes on Monday. If … [Read More...]

Council

P.O. Box 1499, Morristown, TN 37816-1499

423/581-0100

council 2015

Current City Council Members Are:

  • Chris Bivens  (cbivens@mymorristown.com)
  • Dennis Alvis (dalvis@mymorristown.com)
  • Bob Garrett (bgarrett@mymorristown.com)
  • Kay Senter (ksenter@mymorristown.com)
  • Ken Smith (ksmith@mymorristown.com)
  • Tommy Pedigo (tpedigo@mymorristown.com)

The Morristown City Council is composed of the Mayor and six Council members elected to staggered four-year terms. Public meetings are held the first and third Tuesday of every month at 5 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the City Center. The local paper announces any deviation from the normal schedule.

The function of the Council is to:

  • Adopt and amend City ordinances and resolutions;
  • Determine City policies and standards of service;
  • Levy, assess and collect taxes;
  • Determine how much money is to be spent and for what purposes;
  • Uphold all City ordinances;
  • Appoint citizens to various boards and committees;
  • Responsibly represent the citizens of the City of Morristown as the political leadership.

Morristown: Moving Forward

Take a virtual tour of Morristown, TN!