Request email notification when page changes E-Notify

The City initially became covered by the NPDES General Permit For Discharges From Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4) in 2003.  This permit, often simply called a "Stormwater Permit" is required by the US Environment Protection Agency and is implemented in Tennessee by the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC).  Neither the US EPA nor the State of Tennessee provides any funding to Morristown for operating the Stormwater Program.

Most cities and counties with a population greater than 10,000 and/or located in an "urbanized area" as defined by the US Census must follow this permit, which regulates discharges of stormwater runoff to waters of the state.

The permit provides requirement in each of the following six "minimum control measures".

• Public Education and Outreach

• Public Involvement/Participation

• Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination

• Construction Site Stormwater Runoff Control

• Post-Construction Stormwater Management in New Development and Re-Development

• Pollution Prevention/Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations

More information about each of these six main categories is provided in the links on the left side.

A requirement of the City’s Stormwater Permit is to submit an Annual Report to TDEC on the City’s stormwater activities. Click below for the most recent Annual Report.

2022-2023 Stormwater Permit Annual Report

2021-2022 Stormwater Permit Annual Report

2020-2021 Stormwater Permit Annual Report

2019-2020 Stormwater Permit Annual Report

2018-2019 Stormwater Permit Annual Report

2017-2018 Stormwater Permit Annual Report

2016-2017 Stormwater Permit Annual Report

2015-2016 Stormwater Permit Annual Report